School of Rock – Day 11 – Collaboration and Growth – Part 1

SUMMARY

Todays theme was collaboration and growth, that meant songwriting how to videos and working on my final project.

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

I have a chord progression, and key picked out. the key is Bb minor, and I think I want to record it acoustically.

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Holistic songwriting artist series: John Mayer (notes)

  • vocal based music is aggressive, compared to instrument based music that is less intrusive
  • John Mayer doesn’t put his lyrics in front of the guitar, He “knows when to shut up”
  • He also keeps the quiet parts quiet. This means that he doesn’t do random guitar rifts when he’s giving a spotlight to the vocals (he gives the song some space)
  • “shut up and give the music room to breath”
  • “try to write a song that’s only guitar and vocals, then write the band arrangement”
  • “song writing can be smart without being clever”

independent learning: sinister chord progressions (for final project)

Augmented triads

  • has a root, major third and a sharp five
  • Its always the same shape as long as you move up a major third

Independent learning: blues chord progression

  • most common chord progression in blues is I, IV, V

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

“I have motivation, or I don’t,” That’s not how motivation works. people are different. “one sized fits all”, That also doesn’t work, but it “does” in western medicine because of the average. It kind of works for some people, some would manage but its not ideal for everyone. Motivational seminars are ineffective, that’s why they still exist. Why are they successful if they don’t work for everyone?

We all have our own motivational style, and when you find that style, we would be more successful in motivating ourselves. modify your approach.

I think I’m wind type. That means that My mind is everywhere, and I lose motivation easily (not a bad thing). The style that was said to be helpful is to work on different thing through out the day. Different activity’s. That way I can keep my motivation up and stray getting bored of one activity. The pitfall is anxiety and worry.

(I might be the earth type though)

*research about love language

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

(notes) How to start writing a song

  1. Melody, start with melodic line and build it up from there
  2. Reversing existing songs
  3. Song tittle, start with the tittle and write lyrics from that
  4. Grove? start with drums then everything else
  5. Start on paper (used with jazz)
  6. Story, write a story then song based off of story
  7. Emotion or chords, (What I do)
  8. Arrangement, where do I want to go?
  9. Rolling dice, random song generator

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Today I learned about power chords, motivation, and augmented triads. Nothing problematic occurred to me personally, but The sound room was having some issues with a few of the microphones. I wanted to work more on my final project and I found a chord progression in Hookpad that I re-recorded into Soundtrap.

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I really liked the motivation video. It helps to know that I’m not “messed up” or something because I’m bad at motivating myself.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 4

I was really engaged with the motivation video, and the Holistic songwriting artist series. I found the information in those videos intriguing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *