School of Rock – Day 12 – Collaboration and Growth- Part 2

SUMMARY

Today I worked on my project. It took some time but I actual have something that that I’m proud of, and excited to continue working.

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

 For today, My goal is to complete the beginning portion of my song (draft). That means I need to record a drum line, bass line, and The beginning melody.

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Creative Commons image Keep calm and achieve greatness by Koka Sexton at Flickr
Creative Commons image Keep calm and achieve greatness by Koka Sexton at Flickr

 Freakonomics – How to Become Great at Just About Anything

“What if the thing we call “talent” is grotesquely overrated? And what if deliberate practice is the secret to excellence? Those are the claims of the research psychologist Anders Ericsson, who has been studying the science of expertise for decades. He tells us everything he’s learned.”

Today I thought about my composition for the final project. I think I’m thinking to much about it. Instead just “word vomiting” or “song vomiting”, I’m taking the time to make sure my chord structure is strong, and the melody has a push and pull. Its weird thinking more about the composition stuff instead of just writing a song like I used to. I think I want the lyrics to describe how people are speeding through their life, while others are taking their time. The best way to show that and not tell is to use driving as a metaphor.

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

holly cow! I worked all day on my final project. it took a but but I actually have something. I went through a ton of ideas, but none of them seemed to work for me. I want to have an ironically happy jig while the lyrics stay dark and eggy. In order to do that, I used a piano to create a bouncy high part, with a low subwoofer to keep some of that edge.

then I wanted to make a change. for that I used synths and the already existing sub bass. I wanted it to make you feel like your floating. I think I accomplished that very well.

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Today I worked on my final project. It went through a bunch of phases like “jazz”, a slow song, a main theme. I eventually ended on something that represents my already existing style. creepy and somehow cute.

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I liked that I was able to get a lot of my project done

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

I was very productive, and I managed to finish a bit of my project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *