School of Rock – Day 8 – Leadership

SUMMARY

Write your daily summary last, at the end of the day here… Only one to two sentences. – AND THEN DELETE THESE WORDS!

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

 Holistic Songwriting’s Artist Series

 Genius’ Songs Deconstructed Series

 Rick Beato What Makes This Song Great Series

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Hooktheory.com/videos

Songwriting Series. (4 videos)

Lyrics to music videos (2 videos)

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

Paul Davids: 8 Things I regret not doing when learning guitar (10:00)

 Essential Hand Stretches For Guitarists or Any Instrumentalist

Continue Justin’s 117 Free Lessons YouTube Playlist

 Jake Lizzio’s 5 blues guitar tutorials

For today I focused on guitar. I want to have a guitar line in my final project so I need the practice. In order to do that I decided to watch more of Justin’s tutorials. The first one I watched was on how to play A D-cord. I already knew how to play it because I looked up beginner cords yesterday. even though I could already play it, I decided to watch it anyways. I’m glad I did. he thought stuff to keep your fingers form hearting and what a correct hand position looks like.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Adriel Wallick’s creative process 

To be honest I got distracted and wasn’t really thinking about the topic I was suppose to be thinking about. Instead, I was thinking about the songs that the characters sang in the hobbit. It would be so cool to use a set of lyrics from the book and write a song in the style of Tenacious D.

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

 Holistic Songwriting: Songwriting Corner

 Holistic Songwriting: Songwriting Exercises

 Holistic Songwriting: 5 Minute Lessons 

First I came up with a cord progression. That was kinda hard. Once I found it though I was able to come up with a bas and melody line. The composition is definitely not finished yet. I still need to make a drum line and record a guitar line.

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

 Soundtrap tutorial 5 – Arranging the song, Mixing and adding effects

 all five videos in the playlist, 

 Soundtrap Support (Effects and Mixing)

other creative people online using Soundtrap Swick’s Classroom Recreating Chainsmokers on Soundtrap.

In a song you want a contrast of the beginning middle and end. this means that you need a push and pull to make it interesting. AKA, a rise into a climax and then a fall. By doing thin your song would be more interesting.

When I was setting up, I had a small issue of getting the guitar to register. After a few failed solutions I found out that it wasn’t pugged in all the way (。_。).

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Today I almost finished a piece. all it needs is an ending (the hardest part for me ). it sounds really good though. I would describe it as a videogame theme.

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

Today was a really productive day. I liked the tutorials, and I got a chance to let others hear my music.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: 5

Not to sound like a broken recorded but, today was very productive. I started with nothing and ended with a good piece and a strong cord progression.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *